Archive | Waitakere

Waitakere on threshold of 2 big advances at New Lynn & northern corridor

Published 5 November 2007Waitakere mayor Bob Harvey signalled at the city council’s first meeting last week that the city was on the threshold of 2 of its biggest projects, and he was thankful for having Auckland’s most stable council to pursue them.

Those projects are the undergrounding of the rail line through New Lynn and the northern strategic development area – the Hobsonville air base, Hobsonville corridor and at Westgate.

Although the council has a new deputy mayor, Penny Hulse replacing retired councillor Carolynne Stone, Waitakere hasn’t experienced the wholesale cleanout seen at some councils. However, it has made some changes to its committees, spreading the work of the former city development committee to an infrastructure & works committee (focus on New Lynn project), a NorSGA urban development committee (for the northern strategic development area) and a town centres sub-committee.

Along with those changes affecting property, Mr Harvey said he wanted the council to think education this term: “Waitakere has a very low achievement level and the low achievers are marginal in life. Nearly a quarter of our students go outside this city for their education.”

Committee chair & deputy chair appointments:

Culture & community, chairman Cllr Judy Lawley, deputy Assid CorbanEmergency services, chairman Cllr Derek Battersby, deputy Cllr Ross DallowFinance & operational performance, chairman Cllr Ross Clow, deputy Cllr Janet ClewsInfrastructure & works, chairman Cllr Derek Battersby, deputy Cllr Ross DallowLong-term council community plan, chairman, Cllr Janet Clews, deputy Cllr Ross ClowNorSGA urban development committee, chairman Cllr Linda Cooper, deputy Cllr Penny HulsePerformance review committee, chairman Cllr Janet Clews, deputy the mayorPlanning & regulatory, chairman Cllr Vanessa Neeson, deputy Cllr Warren FlauntyPolicy & strategy, chairman Cllr Hulse, deputy Cllr Linda CooperTenders sub-committee, chairman Cllr Ross Clow, deputy Cllr Janet ClewsTe Taumata Runanga, chairman Cllr Linda Cooper, deputy Cllr Ross ClowTown centres sub-committee, chairman Cllr Derek Battersby, deputy Cllr Ross Dallow.

Want to comment? Click on The new BD Central Forum or email [email protected].

Attribution: Council meeting & agenda, story written by Bob Dey for this website.

Continue Reading