Bartley in clear lead for council seat

Maungakiekie-Tamaki Local Board chair Josephine Bartley had a clear lead at the weekend in the election to replace Denise Lee on Auckland Council’s governing body.

In 2 local board by-elections, Dave Pizzini was well ahead in Manurewa and Denise Roche in Waitemata.

The council posted progress results on Saturday, to be followed by preliminary results today and final results on Wednesday after special votes have been counted.

Ms Lee was elected to Parliament last year as National’s candidate in the Maungakiekie electorate.

Ms Bartley is in her third term on the Maungakiekie-Tamaki Local Board, and is currently the chair, but Chris Makoare is due to take over that role in April.

The leading candidate in the Manurewa Local Board by-election, Dave Pizzini, retired as a detective senior sergeant with Counties Manukau police in 2014 and has since been working as a self-employed private investigator.

He’s set to replace Simeon Brown, who was elected as the National MP for Pakuranga last year.

The leading candidate for the Waitemata Local Board, Denis Roche, was the Auckland City councillor for the Hauraki Gulf islands from 2007-10.

She was the Green Party candidate for Auckland Central in the 2008 parliamentary elections and was elected to Parliament in 2011 as a list MP, but wasn’t re-elected last year.

Dr Mark Davey resigned from the board last October, after a year, due to increasing overseas business commitments.

Greg Moyle, defeated at the 2016 board elections, was in second place, and heritage campaigner Allan Matson in third.

Progress results:

Maungakiekie-Tamaki Ward:

Josephine Bartley (Labour), 7073 votes
Josh Beddell (C&R/Future Auckland), 5580 votes

Manurewa Local Board:

Dave Pizzini (Manurewa Action Team), 4930 votes
Brooke Loader (Labour), 3369 votes
Michael Bailey (independent), 1369 votes
John Hall (independent), 962 votes
Jokaveti Nakabea Bai (independent), 372 votes

Waitemata Local Board:

Denise Roche (City Vision), 2917 votes
Greg Moyle (Balancing the Board), 2706 votes
Allan Matson (independent), 1936 votes
Chang Hung (independent), 1133 votes
Morgan Avery (independent), 1011 votes

Attribution: Electoral office.

, , ,


  1. Early leaders win in 3 by-elections - The Bob Dey Property Report - Wednesday 21 February 2018

    […] Earlier story: 19 February 2018: Bartley in clear lead for council seat […]